Srem village
Topolovgrad municipality
Srem is a village in the Tundzha River valley, located 60 km from Yambol and 16 km from Topolovgrad. It stands on a hill with a north-eastern exposure at an altitude of around 100 metres above sea level. The village territory includes parts of the picturesque Srem Gorge, the Sakar Mountains and the Dervent Heights. Nearby peaks include Kyustarlaka Peak (249 m), Besniya Egrek Peak (248 m) and Golyamata Mogila Peak (230 m).
The Srem Gorge is 8 km long and lies at an average altitude of 91 metres. It is narrow, scenic and characterised by steep granite cliffs. The Tundzha River Gorge is a protected area under the EU Habitats Directive. The area is home to the great crested newt, yellow-bellied toad, Eurasian otter, European pond turtle, spur-thighed tortoise and Hermann's tortoise. Several bat species, together with rare fish and invertebrates, further enrich the remarkable wildlife of the Tundzha valley.
The soils around Srem village are mainly cinnamon forest soils, while the floodplain along the Tundzha consists of alluvial meadow soils. Most farmland is concentrated in the river valley, where poplars, willows, osiers, black locust and Turkey oak also grow. The river and its surroundings are inhabited by herons, Eurasian hoopoes, European rollers, European bee-eaters, common kestrels, golden orioles, common starlings, common nightingales, tits, swallows, wagtails, ducks and many other bird species. The river also supports a rich fish fauna, including common carp, wels catfish, northern pike, barbel and European perch. The drier grasslands and shrub habitats, dominated by hawthorn, wild rose and juniper alongside rare orchid species and scattered trees, provide habitat for the European souslik, forest dormouse, Eastern imperial eagle, lanner falcon and lesser spotted eagle.
The remains of an ancient settlement can be found in the Karatoprak area between Srem village and Captain Petko Voyvoda village. About 1.5 km north of Srem, in the Gradishteto locality, there are remains of a Neolithic settlement and a Thracian fortress. East of the village, at Arnautskata Cheshma, lie the remains of a large Late Roman and medieval settlement. At the foot of Kyustarlaka Peak are man-made carved stone circles similar to those found at the Mochukovi Kamani and Paleokastro sanctuaries.
Until the beginning of the 18th century, Srem village was located on the right bank of the Tundzha River. During the Kardzhali raids in the late 18th century, however, the settlement was moved to the left bank, to the Kayryaka area, where it remains today. The village church, Ascension of the Lord, was built in 1850. The first school opened in 1874 and operated until 1902, when a new school building was constructed. At the beginning of the 20th century, the main livelihoods were livestock farming and the cultivation of cereals, fodder crops, vegetables, tobacco and garlic. Sericulture and traditional crafts also flourished.
The Izgrev Community Centre (Chitalishte) was established in 1927. Between 1924 and 1930, the bridge over the Tundzha River was built, followed by the village hall in 1935, marking a new stage in the development of local administration and community life. Srem reached its largest population after the Second World War, after which many residents gradually moved to larger towns such as Stara Zagora, Elhovo, Yambol and Burgas.
Today, around 250 people live in Srem village, where they continue to grow vegetables, garlic and cereals and raise livestock. The village has several guest houses and a local shop. The community centre remains very active, organising annual celebrations for religious holidays as well as the traditional Srem village festival, held at the beginning of September.